twitter facebook youtube linkedin flickr webmail

Arbitration experts to consider legacy of landmark AT&T Mobility case at Penn State Law

Arbitration experts to consider legacy of landmark <i>AT&T Mobility</i> case at Penn State Law

The 2011 Supreme Court decision in AT&T Mobility v. Concepcion last year has potentially changed the legal landscape in a number of areas including class actions and arbitration agreements between consumers and businesses. Renowned U.S. legal scholars, including John Feerick at Fordham, will convene for the symposium U.S. Arbitration Law in the Wake of AT&T Mobility v. Concepcion on February 22, 2012 at Penn State University Dickinson School of Law.

Sponsored by the Penn State University Yearbook on Arbitration and Mediation, the symposium features an agenda with four panels of arbitration experts who will cover:

  • The impact of AT&T Mobility on federalism interests
  • The consequences of AT&T Mobility on procedure in multi-party litigation
  • Procedural fairness after AT&T Mobility
  • The likely legacy of AT&T Mobility 

“We have asked some of the nation’s top scholars and experts on arbitration law to share their perspectives on the impact of this landmark decision,” said Penn State Law Professor Tom Carbonneau who directs its Institute of Arbitration Law and Practice. “They will not only illuminate the consequences of the decision but talk about what practitioners can expect in the future,” he said. 

“The decision in AT&T Mobility v. Concepcion was eagerly awaited and was quickly criticized by consumer rights activists. We are thrilled to have assembled such an extraordinary group of experts to participate in this symposium. The event affords attendees the opportunity to visit Penn State Law to engage in a thorough analysis of Concepcion and its potentially far-reaching implications,” said Nick Fox ’12, Editor-in-Chief, Yearbook on Arbitration and Mediation. 

Panelists include:

John Feerick and Arthur Rovine, Fordham University; Richard Bales, Northern Kentucky Law School; Richard Reuben, University of Missouri Law School; Chris Drahozal, University of Kansas School of Law; Jill Gross, Pace University Law School; Hiro Aragaki, Loyola Los Angeles University Law School; Steven Bennett, Jones Day; Sandra Partridge, American Arbitration Association; Terry Moritz, Goldberg Kohn; and Michael Helfand, Pepperdine. Professor Carbonneau and Penn State Law Professor Nancy Welsh, a scholar and leader in the field of alternative dispute resolution, will co-host the symposium.


The Pennsylvania Continuing Legal Education Board has approved this program for 6.5 hours of substantive law, practice and procedure CLE credit and zero hours of ethics, substance abuse and professionalism CLE credit. To register, visit online.




Share this story