twitter facebook youtube linkedin flickr webmail

Hon. Sylvia H. Rambo Award

Each year the Women's Law Caucus (WLC) of the Penn State Dickinson School of Law honors a female in the legal profession who has had a distinguished career and who, by example, has made the professional success of other women more likely. The WLC established this award in 1993 when it honored Judge Sylvia Rambo as the first recipient, paying tribute to her contributions as a lawyer and jurist and to her interest in promoting the role of women in the law.

In conjunction with this award, the WLC sponsors an annual Hon. Sylvia H. Rambo Award Reception, which will be held on Thursday, February 27, 2014 at 6:00 p.m., in Lewis Katz Hall in Carlisle, PA.

Judge Rambo graduated cum laude from Dickinson College in 1958 and received her J.D. degree from The Dickinson School of Law in 1962. She served as the Cumberland County Chief Public Defender and as an adjunct professor of law at The Dickinson School of Law. Judge Rambo currently serves as a Senior Judge for the United States District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania. She was originally appointed to the federal bench by President Jimmy Carter in 1979 and was the first woman to be appointed to the Middle District of Pennsylvania and the first woman to serve as Chief Judge for the Middle District, a position she held from 1992 to 1999.

Nominations for this prestigious award are now being solicited. Supporting documentation (résumé, curriculum vitae, newspaper or magazine articles, etc.) is greatly appreciated and will aid the selection committee in making its determination. Anyone may nominate a woman in the legal profession (lawyer, judge, politician, etc.). Recommendations may be submitted by:

  • using the online form
  • mailing a printed form to WLC President Gabriella Grosso, The Penn State University, Dickinson School of Law, 333 West South Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
  • e-mail to Gabriella Grosso at or
  • inter-campus mail to the WLC.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, October 25, 2013. 

View List of Past Rambo Award Recipients